Altin Vana (Golden Valve) Award for DIPOS at the Turkish Energy Summit

During the Turkish Energy Summit, held at the Ankara Sheraton Hotel between 27 and 29 April 2010, the ceremonies for the Altin Vana (Golden Valve) & Altin Voltaj Dogalgaz ve Elektrik Piyasaları Basari Odulleri (Golden Voltage Natural Gas and Electricity Market Achievement Awards) were held on 28 April with the participation of numerous senior managers and distinguished guests from the energy sector, in particular Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of State Bulent Arinc, Minister of Energy and Natural Resources Taner Yildiz, and President of the Energy Market Regulatory Authority (EMRA) Hasan Koktas.

Tekhnelogos, which has managed to fully digitize the natural gas conversion process in Turkey since 2004, was awarded the Altin Vana award for its Digital Project-Confirmation System (DIPOS). In an explanation of the rationale for the award, it was noted that DIPOS “saves labor and energy by cutting the length of the project-confirmation process from up to 30 days down to just one day, eliminating bureaucratic problems and paper waste.”

Hasan Koktas presented the award to Tekhnelogos General Manager Ahmet Selami Caliskan. In his remarks

, Caliskan emphasizing that the award, which is considered the Oscar of the sector, has a symbolic meaning for everyone at Tekhnelogos, and that while the company would focus on e-government applications in the coming period, it would continue to contribute to the natural gas sector with innovative products and applications. He also added that the award belonged to all of the partners involved in Tekhnelogos’s DIPOS system, including gas-distribution companies and certified technicians, and that since 2004, DIPOS had saved 100 million dollars’ worth of costs in the natural gas sector and spared 30,000 trees from being cut down.

In addition to the Altin Vana Awards, the Honor Awards and the Altin Voltaj Basari Odulleri (Golden Voltage Achievement Awards) were also presented at the ceremony. Honorary awards went to Turkish Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdogan, Energy Minister Taner Yildiz, EMRA President Hasan Koktas, BOTAS (Petroleum Pipeline Company) General Manager Fazil Senel, TPAO (Turkey Petroleum Corporation) General Manager Mehmet Uysal, and Vice President of Korean Energy Company KEPCO G. Youngeek Jung. The Altin Vana Awards are awarded to companies for their work in the field of social responsibility and their efficient and innovative products. In addition to Tekhnelogos, leading representatives of the sector, such as Shell Energy, Aygaz, Ipragaz, Petrol Ofisi, Aksa Energy, and Baskent Natural Gas, received awards in the Altin Vana category.